Building girls of courage, confidence, and character who make the world a better place

Ready For The New Year!

By: Kim Dunne, Media Manager

Happy-New-Year-2014-HD-WallpaperEvery year I watch the ball drop on the television screen and I feel both happy and sad. It’s been that way since I can remember. I always think that the year that has passed was wonderful and I hate to see it end. However, as I’ve gotten older I’ve become more ready for the new year. Let’s face it – we have no choice but to accept the new year.

2013 was a wonderful year both professionally and personally. I finally got married to the most wonderful man and officially became a mom to my step-daughter who I love with all my heart. Professionally, I hit my 5-year mark with the Girl Scouts. I constantly think I am the luckiest person in the world to get to do what I love. I get to tell the community what wonderful things our girls are doing right in their own backyards. It is the best job in the world. I love meeting girls. I love working with the girls that are part of the media team. They are so excited about what they are doing and love to tell me about it. I love hearing from volunteers and receiving pictures of girls in action. I love working with my co-workers and getting the word out about all of the great programs we offer. I love hearing from our alumnae and being able to tell their stories.

It is at this time each year that I reflect on what I’ve accomplished over the past year. I then also develop my own set of goals for the new year. Things personally and professionally that I wand to accomplish next year. We have so much planned at the Girl Scouts for next year! I can’t wait to begin to tell you about it!

So just as I have reflected on 2013, I hope you will too! And then I hope you’ll step with us into 2014 and continue to help build girls of courage, confidence, and character who make the world a better place!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,369 other followers

