Experiences Learned in an Afternoon From Girl Scouts

By: Carleen Lattin, Troop Leader and National Council Delegate in Elmira

roller skatingEarlier this week I met up with some of the girls from my Girl Scout Daisy troop for some roller skating. I had contemplated whether or not to try to roller skate. I had in my past, without any injury or falling. Now granted, I am not the greatest on roller skates but I thought I would at least attempt it. Some girls were very scared and it took a lot of courage to try. Being on four wheels, trying to maintain your balance is hard enough. Some did very well and there were a lot who did good. Ms. Carleen, however, was one of the casualties. I fell three times on my bum, and scraped up my left knee pretty bad. I don’t know if I got a size too big of a skate or not, but after falling three times, I was not ready to swap for the size down! I am not a quitter, but I was so sore. I felt however that if these young girls were going to try to skate, possibly fall and keep trying that so was I. That is initially why I decided to at least try to skate instead of not even attempting to skate.

This is not the first time that I have done things that the girls do too. I have climbed the rock wall at veni.vidi.vici. and done the Beary Path at Misty Hollow with them. I have gone swimming with them, too. I feel as a leader that I can not ask them to do something that I would not try myself, unless there was something that prevented me from doing it.

Every meeting, event, outing, and activity, these girls are constantly testing themselves and showing great courage and confidence to at least make the attempt. When they went to the nursing home in December, they didn’t know many of the residents or some had not been to a nursing home before. Some had never been in a parade before. And some of the girls didn’t know each other before. Each time though they make newer and stronger friendships. All of this makes Girl Scouts the best experiences for the girls of our future.

Leave a Reply

