What I’ve Learned From My Daisy Girl Scouts

By: Carleen Lattin, Troop Leader and National Council Delegate in Elmira

Daisy petalsThis year was my first year as a leader of a Girl Scout Daisy troop. In the past, I had always had Brownies, Juniors and up so this was a new experience for me. I don’t have children of my own, so I’ve never gone through the stages of development of young girls, but here’s what I’ve learned.

Potty breaks are a must! If you plan trips, potty breaks before you leave, when you arrive and if it’s more than an hour away, somewhere along the halfway point.

Bring some kind of snack. This goes along the line of potty breaks. I usually hear at least one “I’m hungry.” If it’s a trip more than an hour away, again plan on a stop for some kind of food.

The simplest things can entertain you. Duck duck goose never gets old. Simon Says never goes out of style and the simplest crafts of basic materials can turn into masterpieces.

Being silly can be a good thing but overly silly can be annoying too. Even some of the others girls get annoyed when others exaggerate the silliness.

Sitting still for too long gets them antsy. You can only take sitting for so long before you’re ready to move on to the next thing. I can relate to this. My mind tends to wander from time to time, even as an adult. Maybe that’s because I have a creative mind though.

Celebrate everything! It doesn’t have to be a huge spectacle but we have had a lot of parties: Halloween, Christmas, Valentine’s, Investiture.

Appreciate everything that others do for you. Whether it’s just getting a ride somewhere or listening to them, people do recognize when they do something to help you, whether small or big.

It’s amazing that you can learn the best lessons from our youngest Girl Scouts!

Leave a Reply

