Local Girl Scout Says ‘Girls can Wrestle, Too!’

By: Kim Dunne, Media Manager

Lorelai allamerican“Girl Scouts has taught me to be courageous and strong,” says Girl Scout, Lorelai, from Holland Patent.

Lorelai wants to let everyone know that girls can wrestle too! She recently traveled to Battle Creek, MI to compete in the NUWAY Individual Nationals wrestling tournament. This was the first year a girls division was offered. Lorelai is a first year wrestler and finished second in her division and brought home an All-American title!

“I sometimes feel sad when I get pinned but my mom reminds me that it’s not all about the win,” Lorelai says. “I worked on My Promise, My Faith together and I learned that Eleanor Roosevelt said, ‘You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you stop to look fear in the face. You must do the thing which you think you cannot do.’ So I get back out there and try again! That is part of the law, courageous and strong. I AM courageous and strong!”

Great job Lorelai! We’re very proud of your dedication!

Leave a Reply

