Being A Leader

By: Carleen Lattin, Troop Leader and National Council Delegate in Elmira

leadersBeing a leader has taught me many things. This past Sunday was Mother’s Day. Although I have no children of my own, I still got a few “Happy Mother’s Day” wishes. This means that my leadership in Girl Scouts has made an impact on girls’ lives. I may never be their mom, but it shows a level of caring that being a leader portrays.

Girls these days need that extra person to talk to, to discuss confidential information or problems. I am the one that reassures them things will be ok. I help take care of their boo-boos or help them with projects.

I have never felt so happy and honored that girls look to me as more than just a leader. These experiences will guide them through their lives and even if they leave Girl Scouts, they remember the times they did have.

I am so happy to be a part of their lives and that simple sentiment of “Happy Mother’s Day” warmed my heart. It’s the experiences that I give back, I learned that I also gain and learn from them too.

Leave a Reply

