A Time of Transition Before the Hike

MarianBy: Marian Van Vlack, Lifetime Girl Scout from Whitesville, NY

Just two weeks until I start my hike!  However, all of my attention has been diverted and focused completely on finishing the semester and graduating.  I had to put my planning on hold as I finished my final projects, wrote my papers, and took exams.  I spent my last week tying up loose ends and spending time with all my friends from school.  It’s been a bittersweet time as I say goodbye to the place that has been my home and the people who have been my family for the past five years.  As I’ve started going through this transition I am more and more excited about spending time on the trail.  It will be good to have some time to reflect on the transition I’m making.  I’ve spent the last eighteen years as a student, and for the first time since I can remember I won’t be starting classes in the fall.  Even though I haven’t had much time for preparations these past few weeks, I’ve done a lot of thinking about what I want to get out of my time on the trail.  I will have a lot of time to think and reflect while out in the wilderness and that is just what I need to prepare for this new chapter in my life.  I am now officially a graduate of RIT and I’m ready for my next adventure!

One thought on “A Time of Transition Before the Hike

Leave a Reply

