You Should Join Girl Scouts!

By: Katie Wilburn, Girl Scout Cadette from Baldwinsville

laugh 2It’s recruitment season! It’s an awesome idea to join Girl Scouts, and I’ll tell you why.

The reason I joined Girl Scouts was to hang out with old friends, maybe meet some new ones, and to learn how to do something cool. I was only a kindergartener when I joined. As I grow, I find that Girl Scouts is much more than those three things.

I love Girl Scouts because I am not only having fun with my friends, but raising money by selling cookies and going to fun places. I am also helping people. For example, my troop decorates the brown paper bags that Meals on Wheels uses to deliver food. We send boxes of cookies and make cards for active duty military working overseas and we help out at local charities.

Something I have learned from Girl Scouts is that even kids can make a difference in the world. I mean, come on – thousands of girls all over the Earth, working together to make the world a better place, for over a century! Together, we have made a difference.

And I’ll just stay that it’s all very fun and educational. If meetings with your friends aren’t enough, there’s always camp. I love camp. It’s like a gigantic sleepover with a lot of friends. It’s almost worth joining Girl Scouts just for camp. There’s also the “missions” as I like to call them. You know, when your troop goes somewhere and does something cool. Like walking in a parade, going to a water park, a diamond mine, a pottery studio, horseback riding, the list goes on and on.

I think Girl Scouts are awesome and you should join because there’s no end to what you can do!

Leave a Reply

