Three things for Thursday

By Lisa Kaminski; Manager, Community Development

centennialThis year is the 100th anniversary of the Girl Scout Gold Award. In celebration of that, here are three facts you may not know about the highest award in Girl Scouts:

The Gold Award was created in 1916 and was first called The Golden Eaglet of Merit. It was a pin of an eagle with its wings spread on a red, white, and blue ribbon.

The name did not change to Gold Award until 1980. Ten years later the National Council Session delegates approved a proposal which would keep this name forever.

Recipients of the Gold Award who enlist in the armed forces may receive higher ranks in recognition of their achievements. Some colleges and universities offer scholarships to recipients, and every year GSUSA selects 10 recipients to be honored as their Young Women of Distinction.

For more information about the Gold Award, or about Girl Scouts, visit the council website at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s