Girls Can Do Anything Boys Can Do – Local Girl Scout Joins Football Team!

By: Kim Dunne, Media Manager

football

Brynn from Little Falls is breaking stereotypes with her determination, drive, and agility on the football field and proving that girls can do anything boys can do!

The third-grader is in Girl Scout Troop 20480. She loves to take part in different events, community service projects, and make brownies. She also loves football. She has been playing since she was in kindergarten and has no plans to stop.

“I’ve always liked football. I have an older brother who plays football too and it’s fun to play with him,” she said. “I thought about joining and I thought about not joining. I knew that I’d be sad if I was just watching other kids play, because I love to play football. So I joined Pop Warner.”

Brynn says that being a part of Girl Scouts for the past few years has helped her trust herself.

“When I’m in Girl Scouts I work with my friends and leaders to solve problems and come up with ideas,” she says. “On the football field I do this by myself whenever it is needed. Sometimes the play goes wrong and I have to think fast.”

She says that her teammates don’t care that she’s a girl and treat her no differently. Her favorite position to play is running back.

“Football is fun!” she exclaimed.

Way to go Brynn! We can’t wait to hear more about your football experience!

Share your #girlpower story with us by e-mailing it to kdunne@gsnypenn.org or you can submit it through our Facebook page.

Brynn volunteering at the Herkimer County Humane Society
Brynn volunteering at the Herkimer County Humane Society

Leave a Reply

