Meet This Summer’s Camp Staff

MelvinCamp registration opens today! We’re so excited to be offering you so many great programs to attend this summer. We have several of our international camp workers returning again this summer and our own Outdoor Program Manager, Mandi Torres, talked to some of them about last summer and what they are most looking forward to this summer.

Camp Name:
Melvin

Where you’re from:
England!!!

What you’re studying at University:
I’m studying Psychology at the University of Cambridge

Favorite memory of camp 2015:
One of my favorite memories of camp 2015 was my birthday, when I realized that I couldn’t think of a better place to spend my day. Camp birthdays are the best kind of birthdays, and it is such a special feeling when everyone in camp comes together to make it such a memorable day for the birthday girl.

Favorite camp song:
My favorite camp song has got to by ‘My name is Joe.’ I remember the first time that we melvin3were taught the song in staff training and we all thought it was hilarious, little did we know that the songs just got sillier and crazier!

What’s the best part of camp (for the girls):
For the girls, the best parts are the little things. Cooking their first s’more over an open fire, being away from their family for the first time, acting around the camp fire, and late night talent shows with their cabin. These are the things that they will remember, and that will make them want to come back to camp every year.

Best part of your job:
My favorite part of being a camp counselor is being able to live a different, magical life for the whole summer. I love working with children, and the feeling that I get when I see the girls working together and respecting each other is something that cannot be topped. Camp is a place where everyone is friends.

What you’re looking forward to in summer 2016:
I am most looking forward to meeting all of the new staff and campers in 2016. I love getting to know new and interesting people from different places, all with difference stories and personalities. My favorite part of the camp week is seeing the group dynamic of each unit develop throughout the week, where you can truly see the girls making friends, having fun and developing as unique social individuals.

melvin2Why girls should come to camp:
Girl should come to camp because it is the best place to develop as a person, in an environment where every day is different. The girls (and the staff) are so lucky to be able to experience so many different activities and interactions, and make so many new memories, all in the space of a week. From high ropes, swimming in the lake, and counselor hunts to sleeping in tents, gaining a new family and respecting different people; everyone learns so much about themselves, and about life, from what initially seems like such a simple experience. Because of camp, I am learning and growing in a similar way to the girls – they are so lucky to get this incredible head start.

Name one thing about you the girls might not know:
Hmm, difficult…I had never been to the USA before working at camp (how did I survive without grilled cheese and tater tots!?)

Anything else you want to say?
There is literally nothing better in the whole world than camp. If you can’t tell from the above enthusiasm, then I love and value camp so much, and feel that it is such an important part of life – at camp, you are guaranteed to have the best summer ever!

Register to have the best summer ever by clicking here. We can’t wait for you to join us for another amazing summer!

3 thoughts on “Meet This Summer’s Camp Staff

  1. Hey Melvin,
    Its Sadie!!! I am so happy your’re coming back to camp!!!! I am very happy your favorite part of camp was your birthday. I’m not sure if you remember but I was on the kayak trip with you on your birthday 🙂 Ray tied ballons on your kayak and we gave our cards to you. And I can’t wait to have more great memories with you!
    -Sadie

    1. Hey Sadie!! Of course I remember you – we had so much fun on the kayak trip! Can’t wait for camp – see you soon 🙂

  2. Hey Melvin,
    How are you it’s Abbie. We went on the kayaking trip like Sadie. Just so you know I’m going on the backpacking trip this year with Cadance. I can’t wait to see you this summer and I hope you’ll go on the backpacking trip this year

    Abbie

Leave a Reply

