By: Natalie Shoemaker, Advancement Coordinator

If dogs could speak, they would ask for more people to be like Anna Lioto. This  Girl Scout from Troop 10623 decided for her Silver Award Project, she wanted to enrich the lives of shelter dogs. She asked us to consider the life of an animal in a shelter–it’s pretty bleak.

“Shelter pets are bored and stressed,” Anna explained. “So I am doing a project to provide enrichment items for bored and stressed dogs in shelters and rescues. I am collecting dog toys, beds, and other items that provide comfort and enjoyment. The items collected along with others that I am making are being donated to Helping Hounds Dog Rescue.”

Anna has setup boxes for donation a three points: Ebeling’s Pet Center, The Barking Orange, and Solvay Library.

donation shelter

In addition to asking people to purchase products towards her project, she’s also gone ahead and make beds and toys for the dogs by hand! “I am trying to get some fabric donations from Jo-Anns,” she writes. Anna has even gone so far as to up-cycle old t-shirts and fleece fabric at home.

“I hope that these things will help out the dogs in shelters.”

So do we, Anna.

If you’d like to help Anna and the shelter pets, stop by one of her donation boxes and put a toy, bed, or food in the bin. Every little bit helps.

We’re always looking to share stories about our girls and what they’re doing in and for their community. Send photos and info to nshoemaker@gsnypenn.org.

5 thoughts on “This Girl Is Enriching the Lives of Homeless Animals

  1. Dear Anna, Can I send you a box of toys for the dogs? If so, what address should I send it to?
    Thank you for what you are doing. Lisa

  2. I’m not sure how I got this email, I don’t think I live in that area. But I would like to help. Please let me know where I can send supplies, or a gift card for fabric.

  3. Hello Anna…I have A LOT of Fabric I would be happy to donate to your WONDERFUL CAUSE. All of it is brand new, never used ( I’m a family entertainer in Phoenix, AZ and I have buy a lot of fun & colorful fabric for my outfits) Please send me your snail mail address……….. You’re a Super Hero in my book!

    Hugs To You!!

    Nancy Kartoon
    nancy@nancykartoon.net

Leave a Reply

