October’s Volunteer of the Month Explains Why She’s Paying It Forward

Our October Volunteer of the Month is Jackie teRiele. When asked to explain why she volunteers for the Girl Scouts, she began by talking about her experiences when she was a Scout and the amazing leaders who helped guide her.

“I started in 198-something as a Brownie and my leaders (Darlene Ward and Bonnie Scheer) opened my eyes to sports, outdoor activities and skills that I would have never tried without doing them with my troop.”

” Later I had another great leader (Helen Tyler) who was another major influence on my life.  She taught me to look at situations from all angles, to be proud of who I am, and to be aware and considerate of all people.  I know how to bowl a strike, give a speech, and maintain my car all because of Girl Scouting.”

“My leaders showed me what it was like to be strong, capable women with many interests and talents. They instilled in me a strong sense of responsibility to serve others in our community.  I love volunteering with Girl Scouts and I do it to thank them for all the effort they put in to me.  I hope to pass all of those good things on to my girls.”

If you know a Girl Scout volunteer who deserves to be recognized, consider nominating them for our Volunteer of the Month.

2 thoughts on “October’s Volunteer of the Month Explains Why She’s Paying It Forward

Leave a Reply

